Support Center

Knowledge Base: ProPresenter 6
Setup ProPresenter Cloud Sync
Posted by Renewed Vision Support on March 01, 2016 at 12:13 PM
Updated by Renewed Vision Support on Sep 28, 2017

The interface for ProPresenter Cloud has changed as of 6.0.16 (Mac) and 6.0.2.4 (Windows). Functionally, everything is still the same, but we've improved the setup process for new users and cleaned up the interface after you're logged in.

The following screenshots are from the Mac version, however the options are identical in the Windows version.

1. Cloud Sync Preferences

If you have not logged into a Cloud Sync account, or you have logged out to see the new process, this will be the first screen you see when you select Cloud Sync in ProPresenter 6's Preferences. If you need to purchase a Cloud Sync account, click on New Account to begin that process. If you already have an account, click Login.

2. Log into your Cloud Sync Account

The Login screen is the same as before. Enter your user name and password. Remember, each Cloud Sync account has a single username and password. Accounts do not support multiple users.

3. Select your Sync Options

You can choose any combination of ProPresenter 6 data to sync. Choose those options here. You will also be shown these options again later and can change them at any time if you only need to complete a partial sync.

When you click Next, you will either be taken to the screen shown below or to step 4. If you are syncing a new computer to your Cloud Sync account, you will see the next screen. If this is the first computer you have linked to your Cloud Sync account, you will go directly to step #4.

You can choose to sync your local data up to your Cloud Sync account, or sync the data from your account to the computer.

4. Select which Libraries to sync

The first time you sync ProPresenter you will need to create new Cloud Libraries. This option will automatically be selected for you. If you have used ProPresenter Cloud Sync before, then you can either link a local Library to an existing Cloud Library, or create a new Cloud Library by clicking the dropdown menu. You can also select None from the menu to exclude a library Library from the sync process.

5. Select Sync Options

These settings allow you to select whether your data has to be manually synced or if it can sync daily or hourly. These two options are based off the last completed sync time. You can choose to manually sync your data at any time, which will also reset the daily or hourly schedule. There is currently no way to schedule a sync to a more specific day or time. If you have a slow internet connection you may want to uncheck the option to Allow Multiple Transfers so that less bandwidth is used. You can also select Prevent Uploads if you don't want a particular computer to be able to change the data online. 

6. Start Sync

When you click Start Sync, you will be taken to the main Cloud Sync preference panel. This is the screen you will see every time you open Cloud Sync on this computer again. You can modify all of the same settings from here that you configured during the setup process if you need to change your sync settings.

7. Sync status

As long as you are logged into ProPresenter Cloud Sync you can see the sync status in the toolbar. On a Mac, this is located at the top of your screen. In Windows, it's located in the System Tray in the bottom right corner of your screen. You can have your data sync even if ProPresenter isn't running by opening this utility and clicking Sync.

8. ProPresenter Cloud Dashboard

You can log into your Cloud Sync account online by going to http://cloud.propresenter.com. You will be prompted to login using the same credentials that you used in ProPresenter. Clicking on Account Details in ProPresenter will also take you to this same page.

After you log into your account you will be able to review your account status on the first page. The first screen shows you how much of your storage you've used and your transfer amount for the month. There are three additional pages inside your dashboard. App Data shows template files and template images, playlist data, stage display layouts, etc. Documents contains all of your Library files, organized by Library name. Media contains all of your Video/Image Bin and Audio Bin files.

 

9. Managing files through the ProPresenter Cloud Dashboard

If you are close to your storage limit and want to manually manage your files, you can click the column header names (Name, Kind, Last Modified, Size) to sort the files in ascending or descending order by that column. This works for App Data, Documents, and Media. Every file has two management options. Purge will immediately remove the file from your account. It will still be available on your computer locally. Delete will flag the file to be removed on every computer when you sync again. Deleted files will automatically be purged after 7 days.

When you delete a file and then Sync ProPresenter, you will see an alert that one or more files are about to be deleted. If you don't want to delete a file, click Cancel and log into your account online and Undelete the file. If you want to remove the file, click Continue.

If you Purged a file online, it is removed from the sync log and will be uploaded again. If you removed a large file online, be sure to remove it from your ProPresenter Media Repository before syncing again.

10. Managing files through ProPresenter

Media cues can exist in the Media Repository (set in Preferences) folder that are not shown in the Video/Image Bin or Audio Bin. These could be files you added directly to a presentation or playlist, files that were imported with a bundle, or files you removed from ProPresenter but didn't remove from the repository. When you delete a file from the Video/Image Bin, you will see this alert. If you select Delete Cues, then the cue is removed, but the file will still be in the managed folder.