Support Center

Knowledge Base: ProPresenter
How can I move all of my ProPresenter files to a new computer?
Posted by Renewed Vision Support on January 26, 2011 at 11:00 AM
Updated by Renewed Vision Support on Aug 10, 2016

When you are changing computers the fastest way to get everything from one computer to another is to use the Local Sync feature. Note that this should only be done with two computers running the same version of ProPresenter. If you are trying to upgrade while you change computers then please read this article.

On the originating computer:

  1. Create an empty folder on the desktop and name it "ProPresenter Sync" (or something similar).
  2. Open ProPresenter, open Preferences, click on the General Tab, and make sure that "Manage Media Automatically" is checked.
  3. Click on the Sync tab and make sure you are in the Local tab.
  4. Click the "+" near the top and select the new folder you just created on the desktop. Also check all four check boxes below that.
  5. Be sure to click "Sync files up to the repository". This will add all of your data to the folder. (Right now the "replace files on server" box is irrelevant because the folder is empty.)
  6. Click Sync. Note that this may take a minute or two depending on how much media you have.
  7. Now copy this folder to a thumb drive or a network drive.

On the new computer:

  1. Copy the folder from the thumb drive or the network drive to your desktop.
  2. Open ProPresenter, click on the Sync tab and make sure you are in the Local tab.
  3. Click the "+" near the top and select the folder you just copied to the desktop. Also check all four check boxes below that.
  4. Be sure to click "Sync files down from the repository". This will make sure that your data gets copied from the folder to your library.
  5. Click Sync. Note that this may take a minute or two depending on how much media you have.

That's it! Your two computers should be good to go. Note that there are some items that are not copied via this process:

  • Preferences
  • Bibles
  • Registration Information
  • Module Registration Informatoin
  • Some media files (depending on your settings prior to this process)

These items may need to be manually put back into the program.